Step Four: Train and Lead/Lead and Train

     Step Four of Seven: Train and Lead

What I propose in my book is a new way to lead. It is centered on professional-style training and the development of a collaborative leadership style on the part of all who are privileged to lead others.

   “TO TRAIN IS to lead, and to lead is to train—the two are inextricably linked. Good leaders are good trainers and vice versa. When I embarked on the huge task of improving the Madison department from top to bottom, I started thinking about the valuable role rank-and-file officers could take in being an active part of this transformation.  Therefore, I had to be able to attract, hire, and promote to leadership positions the finest people I could find. I knew the kind of people I was looking for and that such high-quality people would only be attracted to serving in an organization that considered them to be of high value and a future potential leader. Three people came to seriously influence my thinking about the kind of leader I needed to be and the kind of leader I needed to develop within the department: Tom Gordon, Robert Greenleaf and W. Edwards Deming…”

I go on to explain how these three teachers changed the way I began to think about leadership and how I began to lead. It took some time to erase the top-down management style that I had learned as a Marine and police officer. But it was worth it and one of the absolutely necessary steps police must take in order to continuously improve what they do.

Stay tuned and I’d love to meet you at one of my book signings.

I will be at First Lutheran Church in Lodi tonight (March 12) to talk about the SEVEN NECESSARY STEPS in my book and how they most likely will also apply to YOUR workplace.                      

    • The Book House, 429-14th Ave. S.E., Minneapolis, Apr. 14, 3 p.m.
    • A Room of One’s Own Books, 307 W. Johnson, Madison, Thurs., April 19, 6:30 p.m.
    • Arcadia Books, Spring Green, Sat., April 21, 3 p.m.
    • Prairie Book Shop, Mt. Horeb, Thurs., April 26, 7 p.m.
    • Village Booksmith in Baraboo, Sat., April 28, 3 p.m.
    • Crossroads Coffee House, Cross Plains, Thurs., May 3, 7 p.m.
    • St John’s Episcopal Church. Portage, Sat., May 5, 3 p.m.