More on Militarization

downloadOne of my sons recently sent me a quote from the television series, “Battlestar Galactica” that reminded me that truth comes from  varied places — even fiction! The quote is from Commander William Adama.

“There’s a reason you separate military and the police. One fights the enemies of the state, the other serves and protects the people. When the military becomes both, then the enemies of the state tend to become the people.” Battlestar Galatica, 2004.

Why is that? And why does the increasing militarization of our nation’s police since 9/11 tend to threaten our democracy?

This is how I see it:

If we standby and permit our nation’s police to look and act like soldiers, they will soon think you and I are the enemy and not people with whom they should work for, serve, and collaborate.

I am not against police tactical groups, but rather the  daily para-military look and actions of police.

Symbols matter. Police are not soldiers.

For more, take a peek at my book.