Upstream-Downstream: Familiar?

rescueOne of the interesting fables I used I used in teaching leadership over the years was “Upstream-Downstream,” by Don Ardell (1975).

To hear the story on video, CLICK HERE.

And then tell me how this may or may not apply to your work.

Then think about what needs to be done.

How can you begin to work upstream to prevent those upstream “bodies” from falling into the rivers in the first place; bodies which impact the quality of your work?

Understanding this story will help you as a leader because it can help you begin to think “outside your box” and the forces and situations which impact you and your work.

What are some of the “bodies” you are already familiar with? Where do they come from? How can you begin to work upstream?

You might also want to read my blog from February, 2013.

And, if this is your first time here, take a look at my book.