Chief: You’re in Touch!

“Chief, I have been in the public safety business for the last 24 years with the Kalamazoo (Mich,) Public Safety Department. I have been a captain for the past 12 years and I am currently the captain of the Operations (patrol) Division.

“I just wanted to send a note thanking you for your contribution to our profession. I have followed you for a few years and incorporated many of your ideas in the four divisions I have led at [the department] including Patrol when I was transferred there 16 months ago.

“I initiated three simple endeavors for the Operations Division when I transferred there; walk door-to-door two blocks every shift (two 12 hour shifts = four blocks per day which equals our entire residential area of 70,000 residents within one year), customer service follow-ups where each of the seven precinct sergeants on both shifts follow up on four calls for service of each of their officers per month, and incident specific canvasses where we send a squad out to canvass door to door to inform residents in person of specifics incidents that occurred within their neighborhood.

“We simplified our goal as a division: Reduce Crime by delivering WOW SERVICE and providing respect and dignity each and every contact with have with the public we serve.

“I could provide literally hundreds of examples of incredible stories of WOW Service by our officers and expressions of gratitude from the citizens and visitors of Kalamazoo over the past 16 months.

“I read your blog very often, have read your book Arrested Development, attended Blue Courage’s train the trainer and firmly believe in the principles of Procedural Justice and Police Legitimacy.

“Enough rambling, today I felt compelled to tell you, THANKS, from a person in the profession who you have never met, but have helped incredibly.

“Please keep up the great work that you continue to provide our profession. God Bless you and your family.”

Capt. Jim Mallory.