Changing the Police

Engage. Agitate.. Change.the system.

Improving Police

UnknownIs Changing Our Police Possible?

One of the questions that was asked of me by one young criminal justice student in Platteville was if I believed changing the police was possible? Being a hopeful person yet having some personal experience with implementing change during my tenure in Madison, I replied, “Yes, but…”

I have watched Madison politics and efforts to implement social change for over 40 years. Yet racial disparities and police arrests continue year after year after year. Those of us who are white and progressive are good at talk. We listen, we are compassionate, we groan with the oppressed – and then we hold study groups and meetings and talk and talk and talk. What doesn’t often happen is change. The years go by, we forget about the disparities thinking that our city is one of the best and things are certainly better for poor people and people…

View original post 866 more words