A Plea for Police-Academic Relationships

A number of us in Madison attempted to get this idea into a reality at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. It seems that after a couple of meeting with interested police, citizens and faculty members the idea has died.

This is a sad situation and I simply have too many other pressing interests to carry this touch. Perhaps someone will. Maybe not in Madison, but, perhaps some other progressive area.

It is an idea whose time has come. It is the future of policing.

Improving Police

Unknown-1 Practitioner, teacher, researcher?

Early in my career, I envisioned a police department in which the officers would become experts in human behavior, relational experts. This is what I experienced in my years in Minneapolis. At night I was a tactical officer and during the day a university student. I quickly understand that much of what goes wrong in policing happens when police are unable to effectively understand what is really going on and how to effectively respond to the various behaviors they encountered on the job.

To me, it became vital that police have access to and understand current research regarding the field of human behavior and proper methods to handle people who are disturbed, angry, grief-stricken, or intoxicated without having to resort to physical force.

Or, if physical force is necessary, to use it judiciously and humanely. Sir Robert Peel knew this over 150 years ago when the field…

View original post 749 more words